CUP and JSTOR becoming mobile friendly

In the last week I have become aware of two new ejournal providers offering a mobile friendly version of their web pages.  The first is Cambridge University Press journals. I tried this out earlier with my i-Pod Touch, whilst connected to our University network.  I simply went to the mobile friendly CUP page: http://jnls.cup.org/   as I was logged into the University wifi network I didn’t need to authenticate any further.  I simply did an author search for Arnull, and a number of articles written by Anthony Arnull appeared.  I clicked on the PDF link and the article then opened in a new browser window.  Admittedly a PDF article is a little small to read on a mobile device, but it would be useful in an emergency or if you were just bored on the train and wanted to find out what was available. 

If not automatically connected users can click the Login/Register button, and scroll down to the bottom of the page to find the Shibboleth or Athens authentication button.  I did have some issues finding “University of Birmingham” from the very long Shibboleth list and found it best to run a search for “Birmingham” and then select us from that list.  It took me to our UoB username and password box, but then failed to take me into the CUP site and stated that there was a problem with the server.  I tried again from home but still had the same problem.  If anybody else tries this, can they let me know what success they have via the Comments area for this blog entry?

The second is JSTOR, though their service is currently only in BETA mode.  You can access it via : http://mobile.jstor.org/  again using my i-Pod Touch searched for “Arnull” and received a number of results.  I clicked on the first result, and got what at first appeared to be the whole journal article as a screen of individual pages.  I straight away started to try to zoom in on the pages, only to find that they were very fuzzy and that I couldn’t actually read them.  In order to be able to read them I had to select the link to “View in full JSTOR site”, as I was again logged into our university Wifi this worked without any issues.   I didn’t like this feature of making me think I had got to the full readable text when in fact I hadn’t.

Off-campus, I needed to select the “Login” link that suggested that you had a personal account; I didn’t feel that this was labelled very well and was a little confusing. From there I selected “United Kingdom” from the “Country” drop down menu and then my University.  I then got taken to our login box, and once I had submitted my username and password I was taken into the full text of the article.  

 JSTOR are still in the BETA stage, so they can hopefully improve on a few of the negative aspects and it is good to see them developing services in this area. 

Post by : Lisa Anderson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

